29 June 2008

Spain Triumphs!

Spain, with style, flair, and a heavy dose of determination, finally did what it took to win the Euro 2008 tournament trophy. Fernando Torres’ lone goal in the first half proved enough to propel this young Spanish side on to victory on Europe’s biggest stage.

Torres’ strike encapsulated his renowned for both powerful running and sheer goal-scoring determination, as he muscled past Philipp Lahm and an onrushing Jens Lehmann, to slot the ball home. Absent from the Spanish attack was David Villa, the tournament’s leading scorer, but this team never looked in doubt.

The second half presented the Spanish with many more great goal-scoring opportunities, while the Germans could muster little in the form of offensive threat. The German captain, Michael Ballack, was little more than a nuisance for the Spanish – but to his credit, battled on despite a sizable gash to his eye.

In the end, Torres’ goal stood alone as the margin of victory as Spain stands alone as your 2008 European Champions.

No comments: